EL: Ethniko kai Kapodistriako Panepistimio Athinon


Ethniko kai Kapodistriako Panepistimio Athinon, or the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (UoA)is the largest state institution of higher learning in Greece, and among the largest universities in Europe. Founded in 1837, it is the first University not only of Greece but both the Balkan peninsula and the Eastern Mediterranean region. With a student body of about 125,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students, over 2.000 members of academic staff and approximately 1.300 administrative and secretarial staff and specialized personnel, the University of Athens aims at excellence in both teaching and research in a significantly varied range of disciplines. The Departments of the University of Athens are grouped in 6 large academic units, the Schools, though some Departments for historical or practical reasons are not part of any School: School of Theology, School of Philosophy, School of Law, Economics and Political Science, School of Health Science, School of Science and Independent Faculties. The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens is one of the top ranking universities in Greece, and ranked 177th in the world according to the Times Higher Education-QS World University Rankings 2009.


Matej KoŇ°ir
Project Manager- SPAN
Science for Prevention Academic Network
Oxford Brookes University
Marston Campus
Oxford OX3 0FL
T: +38631880520 (mobile)
E: [mkosir@brookes.ac.uk]

Twitter: @span_eu